[Mostly] Wordless Wednesday

Photo by feeb on flickr

Photo by feeb on flickr

“No shelter should keep puppies (under the age of 5 months) in a shelter facility. Puppies need to be in foster homes and attending puppy classes until or before they are adopted. We would be appalled if a shelter didn’t provide veterinary care to a puppy, but we don’t seem to see the cruelty of withholding life-saving behavioral therapy.”

- Cindy Bruckart
(Read the whole article here.)

4 responses to “[Mostly] Wordless Wednesday

  1. Woot Woot! What a wonderful idea – and so sound, practical, with long lasting implications. I’m going to talk to local trainers….thank you – the link is priceless.

  2. Last night we saw the damage of dominance “training” gone awry. Our gentle and “please touch me and forever love me” dog Scooter, who is also stubborn, and supper excitable was put on a pinch collar and lead. He was trained to a leash and pinch collar when he was a bout 6 months old. But we had only begun using the lead for this training for just one day. On that day we began to implement a new food regimen “training” because he had growled at me over his breakfast when I was rubbing his head when he was eating. I’ve always been able to touch my dogs when they were eating, put my hand in their bowl, etc. without any problem including this guy. He did well with the food training. Only one pinch and excellent response which without the collar was repeated today with great success. However later in the evening yesterday he would not go to his bed, upon finally going he refused to lie down. When I approached him and picked up his lead he began to growl in a way far more upsetting for us both than the previous breakfast exchange. With a pinch he became more aroused, but I made the next mistake, rather than a pinch I tugged like a guy would grab another guy by the collar all because things were getting out of control and I didn’t even realize that I was doing it and that my action was escalating the scene. Of course the pain level increased for him and he growled and became violent as if to say stop or I will bite you. He sounded like a small chainsaw. I called my husband and he stepped in making my same mistake. Our dog did not settle. He just looked so upset and scared that we were hurting him with the collar. We were all three upset and confused. My husband put it down. I was sobbing, and we just sat down on the sofa facing Scooter broken hearted with confusion on all three of our faces. He would not look at us and we were afraid of what had begun and if it would repeat itself. I got online immediately and found your site. Relieved to find a calmer, kinder perspective on training, we waited a little while and had him come over to me, he let me pet him and talk to him, but he would not look at me. Then I had him come over again and I took the collar off. By morning his spirit seems very quiet, tender and more loving than before. This could only be an answer to prayer. I’m still sad that this happened. I could only pray last night as I have in anything in my life that started out good then went south, that God would take the bad and make something good out of it because we love Him and we love Scooter. We don’t want to encounter a bite or be forced to have to make a hard choice. We have decided to change our methodology. We had been following another trainer’s guidance before now who was harsh, hoping to get the stubbornness under control. We are very tender hearted people and thought we needed to follow someone who was tougher to “get the job done”, maybe that’s why we just weren’t very successful with it. It goes against our nature to be what we call harsh. We are constant with routines, feeding schedules, when they are outdoors, vet visits, and play time with us for examples. And we are people who agree whole heatedly with your style of training. We will move forward using the information provided through your website and we thank you for having an opposing position and a heartbeat for the emotion of our dogs. Our dogs are emotional creatures. We have always said that to each other. Finally we have found someone else who sees them this way. There not just beasts for us to control. They are part of our family. For me and my husband they are our little family. They bring us joy and so much laughter with their funny faces and antics. They are who we share our love with and I thank you for your articles and forward thinking.
    Angela & Ed Andrews

    • Angela- so sorry for your experiences, but I’m so glad that you’ve found the Paws Abilities blog helpful. She is a wonderful writer and dog trainer. Dominance and harsh techniques do have the ability of creating consequential behaviors. I hope you continue to find this website helpful, and if you need help looking for a trainer near you, check out:

      http://www.ccpdt.org

  3. I so wish this were the case.

Leave a Reply

