[Mostly] Wordless Wednesday

I thought I heard you tonight. The sweet thunk, thunk of your tail drumming as I walked up the stairs from my office.
For a moment, I forgot.
I smiled.
I looked for you on the couch where you weren’t supposed to sleep. That was one of your favorite places.
The blankets so empty, but my heart full of your memory
and threatening to burst from my chest with the pain of my love and gratitude.
Thunk.
Thunk.
Nothing but my heartbeat, and the shadow of your soft eyes in my memories.
Thunk.
Thunk.
These moments when I can almost Feel you.

laylalap

12 responses to “[Mostly] Wordless Wednesday

  1. Very sad you have so many fond memories

  2. Someday, you’ll be able to smile through the tears at the memories. Someday, you’ll be able to smile instead of crying.
    Most of the time.

  3. I have no words ❤️ only emotions, very sorry

  4. Mary Lynn Schubert

    ❤️

  5. you are special, and that is why you connected with her. She will always be there, to help you do what is right.

  6. I’m so sorry for your loss. I finally (almost a year after a tragic end to my dog) can get the good memories & smile without tears, but as I say this I am tearing up. I’m sorry for a loss of such a great girl.

  7. So sorry at the loss of your beloved friend. I still, after 4 years, get teary thinking of my special girl lost to lymphoma. The hurt lessens, but never completely goes away. The fun memories make it more bearable.

  8. Amazing the eye contact m

  9. Condolences for your loss.
    May the fond memories comfort you.
    Your pup is at the rainbow bridge having a grand time.

  10. I believe that she was there Sara.

  11. So very touching, beautiful.

  12. I lost my beloved Dakota last year. He was a Attic/Timber wolf but only thru genes. What he was truly mixed with was love and kindness. And though I believe we shared a special bond that he saved just for me, he loved everyone and e everything! Through his 16 years we had all sorts of animals come and go from a ferret, a groundhog, a raccoon and even a squirrel. He watched over them patiently (i think) while they grew. Learned how to care for themselves and eventually returned to the outdoor home they came from. I understand your deep emotional loss and I grieve with you. I can only hope when it is our turn to pass they will be there waiting for us,

Leave a Reply

